Event Info

The 15th Annual Kenilworth Chess Club Championship ran from January 13-April 14, 2005. The event has been held every year since 1991, and it has been won by Scott Massey every year but 1996 and this year, 2005. The event is always a round robin (meaning all participants play each other once) with one game each week played at a time-limit of Game-90 (meaning each player had 90 minutes to make all of his moves, so that games would not last more than 3 hours). Follow the links to the left to see the crosstable, player photos, round-by-round summaries, games (in multiple formats), and photos.

Congratulations to our new Kenilworth Chess Club Champion, Steve Stoyko. And congratulations to the under-1800 Champion, Joe Demetrick. They both played some excellent games.

Second place went to Scott Massey, third place to Mark Kernighan, second-place under-1800 to Geoff McAuliffe, and first under-1600 to Pat Mazillo.

The following rules governed the play and awarding of prizes:

"Games are to be played with a time limit of 90-minutes per player for the game (so that games should not last more than 3 hours). Rounds begin promptly at 8:30 p.m. every Thursday evening, with pairings finalized by 8:15 p.m. Players are allowed two byes (excused absences) and are charged $5 for each additional absence up to four. Players who miss five rounds are automatically disqualified and forfeit their remaining games, to be recorded as wins for their opponents. Prizes will be awarded for the top three players, the best under-1800, second under-1800, and best under-1600. Any ties for prizes will be decided by a Game-30 playoff. All participants must be club members in good standing or must join the club in order to play. This is an unrated event."


Updated 05.06.2005 | Contact Michael Goeller